Dogeared Quote

With fiction books that I enjoyed reading the first time, I usually end up reading the book more than once, from which I pick up new things from the story.  A couple of weeks ago I started to re-read Orson Scott Card’s “Shadows” series and encountered a page I dogeared in “Shadow of the Hegemon.”  Initially, I thought I bent the page over accidentally or by mistake, but then I read the following quote:

“I wondered why parents of such geniuses didn’t have noted careers of their own,” said Bean.  “Or at least some kind of standing in the intellectual community.”

“Intellectual community,” said Mrs. Wiggin scornfully.  “America’s intellectual community has never been very bright.  Or honest.  They’re all sheep, following whatever the intellectual fashion of the decade happens to be.  Demanding that everyone follow their dicta in lockstep.  Everyone had to be open-minded and tolerant of the things they believe, but God forbid they should ever concede, even for a moment, that someone who disagrees with them might have some fingerhold on truth.”

Sounds familiar doesn’t it?  This is a very simplified description of how an Ivory Tower academic functions.

This scene (from 2:20 onward) also makes the same point in a more roundabout fashion:

Leave a Reply

