1000 Words Challenge Recap – 15 August 2016

15 August 2016
Monday

I woke up this morning with my lower back feeling completely sore. Not good at all. I must’ve twisted it while sleeping or something. Thank God I have that massage coming up this Friday. It looks like it’s going to be another rainy day here in Columbus. A plus is that I don’t have a splitting sinus headache from the pressure change that usually accompanies stormy or rainy days. It rained for pretty much the entire weekend, so no swimming for me. I banged out my videos for the week on Saturday morning and did a stream Sunday afternoon. In addition to my normal weekend chores, it was fairly quiet and laid-back.

14:32. Damn, the day is just dragging. The ibuprofen (600 mg) I took earlier this morning took some of the edge off of my soreness, but didn’t make it go away totally. While it may be foolhardy, I am going to try to head down to the fitness center and do an arm and shoulder workout. I’ll have to be careful not to aggravate it further. Maybe I’ll see Redhead down there too.

There has been no real progress on the job searching front. One job I applied for on Friday up at Solar City in Buffalo, sent me an automated “Dear John” this morning. I expected that result, so no big deal. What does suck is that there are so many job hunters that employers can pick and choose who they want to talk to. It really sucks and is demoralizing. I’ve been looking to get out for almost 2 years now, and what do I have to show for it? Two phone interviews where both companies went radio silent after promising to get back to me “in two weeks with a decision.” And employers wonder why their employees have almost little to no loyalty to them. It’s really frustrating.

This 1000 words thing is getting tedious. I’m always coming back to the same problem I’ve always had: “What do I write about?” There has to be a better way to get through these things, either doing prompts (hello, 5th grade), or responding to BS I’ve seen on the internet. Both of these choices sound awful, with the latter a guaranteed way of blackening the soul. I don’t know if I’ll be able to actually get through a month of this challenge. One week so far isn’t that bad, I just need to keep pushing on. Eventually, things will start to click and I’ll (hopefully) write about different topics or ideas.

Once again, I’m writing my 1000 words at work. It seems that I’ll probably be doing this a lot in the coming days. This job I have is fairly easy and only requires a small amount of diligence to excel. Though, the company itself doesn’t promote based on merit at all. So with me absolutely killing it year after year didn’t help me to advance to the grade I was performing at. I didn’t “put in enough time”, just like a goddamned union shop or tenure-track academia.

I had given up even being rightfully promoted around the same time I started looking for a new job. The funny part is, that when I was finally promoted to the position I earned, I didn’t care. The great reviews didn’t matter. The letters of commendation didn’t matter. The special monetary recognition didn’t matter. I could’ve done the bare minimum and still have gotten to the same place I am today, and in the same timeframe too. Why bother having goals and objectives if the only way they matter is if you don’t meet them? It’s absolute lunacy.

15:01. Just an hour to go. I need to find something else to keep me occupied for the remaining time. While these 1000 words will eat up a portion of that, the problem is if there is any actual work left to be done. We’re being told constantly that “we’re sooooooo behind” yet I have to scrounge for stuff to do on an almost daily basis. It doesn’t help that I have to depend on others to complete things before they come to me to be done. Two people in particular in my group I would bounce for incompetence in a heartbeat. Both are lazy and even more importantly, slow. Especially in my job where time is of the necessity, since everything has a due date and it has to be done by then. I don’t voice these opinions because I want to keep my head down, and I also believe the “what comes around, goes around” saying is true. And I started to talk about work again.

I still have another 220 words to go at this point, and I think I’ll leave the rest for when I get home this evening.

18:25. I didn’t injure myself further doing a relatively quick workout. Hammer curls, shrugs, and tricep raises with a 20 pound dumbbell. I rounded things off by getting on the stationary bike and riding for 10 minutes. That ended up being a little over 2 miles by the time the timer ran up. The TV was on in the background, and I would’ve shut it off except that there was another guy doing his thing. I doubt he was watching it, but it would’ve been bad form to shut it off and get a “hey, I was watching…” nonsense. I turned up the volume a couple of clicks on the Tritonal podcast I was listening to.

Didn’t see Redhead.

Finishing up, I wiped down the bike’s chair and handles, and then walked out the door. The humidity (and surprisingly, heat) hit me in the face. I glanced over to the pool as I walked by, a couple of guys were in near the edge drinking beer. After mentally flipping a coin about swimming, I walked back to my apartment to take a shower and eat dinner. I had one of the hamburgers I grilled yesterday, which I accidentally poured way too much Hot Dog Sauce on it, since it was a new bottle.

Overall, it was just another average day.

Leave a Reply

