1000 Words Challenge Recap – 21 August 2016

21 August 2016
Sunday

I awoke this morning with a sinus pressure and a sinus headache, a great way to start the day. It was bad enough that even after eating a full meal, I had slight nausea from it. After doing my grocery shopping very quickly, I came home smartly to put them away, and then rush off to the bathroom to empty my bowels. I really hate when I get this sinus nonsense, it messes me up until it goes away. Usually decongestants and analgesics don’t take the edge off. I always have to ride them out while feeling like dogshit in the process.

So after a shower and popping both a Zyrtec D and some ibuprofen, I sat down to bang out the Factorio videos for the week. I wanted to record ahead for when I’m going to be out of town for Labor Day weekend, so the goal for this morning was four episodes total. The first three recorded fine, and the last one corrupted for some reason. I don’t know why this occasionally happens, some little glitch with OBS that happens occasionally. I still had a residue of the sinus pressure lethargy, so I didn’t bother doing another episode. Maybe sometime this week (ha!) I’ll be able to record out a few more episodes for coverage.

After getting the video queued up for upload, as per my usual routine, I did some of my normal chores for the weekend. Laundry (that I still need to fold, as of this writing). Taking the garbage out. Figuring out what I wanted for dinner that night. Normal stuff I do on the weekends. To be honest, I vegged out on the couch for a while browsing Twitter while the vestige of the sinus pressure went away. The afternoon really slipped away. Partly because I decided to do a stream for an hour and forty minutes. It really wasn’t like I was going anywhere or had things to do. I could’ve went to the pool, but I felt burned out. Besides, my tan is good enough already.

It does get to that point during the summer for me, where I don’t desire to be out in the sun any longer. Also, the way that summers here in Columbus always end up being uncomfortably hot means that you can’t just “sit on the porch/deck” and drink a beer because it’s so stagnant out. Surprisingly, today it was actually cooler out, with a nice breeze. I was able to enjoy sitting on my deck while reading. I even was able to open the sliding glass door and let some fresh air into my apartment (while shutting down the AC for the time being). I haven’t been able to do that since late-May/early-June. I wish the weather would allow for more of that, though I think the week of thunderstorms/rain we had probably was the reason why it was so comfortable today.

Since I had such a large breakfast, as I usually do on Sundays, I wasn’t really that hungry at all during the day. Though, I did make myself a protein shake around 13:00 with some of that carbo gainer I still have. I had forgotten I still had that, and the creatine monohydrate too. Maybe I should get back in the swing of a fuller protein regime now that I am actually trying to work out again. It’ll just be another thing I have to remember to do in addition to the stuff I already do.

I used my grill again for the second week in a row, making hamburgers again. While I was thinking of getting chicken breasts and putting my Dad’s marinade on it, the abovementioned sinus pressure had me making a quicker decision earlier that morning when I was making my list and while shopping after breakfast. At least this time when I was grilling I was more careful; I didn’t burn any of the burgers. Though, I did have to wait on the tater tots finishing in my oven before actually eating. For some reason, the oven takes a long time to heat up. The one I had in my condo would, after setting the temperature, would count down the time until it was at the right temperature. This usually took at the most 5-9 minutes, depending on the temperature. My apartment’s on the other hand, maybe somewhere between 10 and 20 minutes to get to the same temperature. It is a hassle to deal with when you want things to be ready at around the same time as each other. I can’t tell you how many times I set the oven to preheat and then go watch 2/3 of a YouTube video before its ready to do. Then you have to factor in the cooking time too. A long time to wait, especially when you’re hungry or tired from a long day.

I had my burger and tater tots, and then went out onto my porch/deck to have a beer and read. I’m currently re-reading “Tai-Pan” by James Clavell. It’s as good as I remember it was, at least with the Kindle’s ability to look up words, I know what some of them mean now. I’m talking more about the obscure ones or British slang Clavell uses. It helps to know exactly what a “stevedore” does to understand what’s going on in the story. I’m most of the way through it.

I do have a decent pile of actual books to get through. These I’ve been putting off because of time, other books being of higher priority, or size of the book itself. It’s difficult to take a thick book around easily. Coupled with my own tic of trying to take very good care of my books (no rips, tears, food stains), most just stay on my stack in my bedroom or on my kitchen table. There just isn’t time to read them all. Or the desire to read at night when that’s what I do all day at work. I still do it though, I do enjoy reading immensely.

Leave a Reply

