1000 Words Challenge Recap – 23 August 2016

23 August 2016
Tuesday

14:45. Another nice day here in Columbus. Comfortable, sit outside on the porch and read a book type of weather. Even with a cloudless sky, the sun didn’t make everything unbearable. I didn’t have to mop my brow with a napkin or head to the bathroom immediately after my walk to go cool down. Maybe this year will be one where we get an early autumn. An autumn like I remember from Buffalo or North Carolina.

I wonder what I’m going to write about today. Most times I sit down with the open Word document and just start typing stuff about my day. There’s no real point to what gets written here, no goal (outside of the 1000 words), and no real structure. I did lay down some guidelines on my blog, but even those were general and kind of broad. I’ve tried to follow them the best I can, though I may not be as descriptive as I would like. The alternate goal of this challenge is to clear out any blockages in my thoughts and help me to focus on possible new projects. I want to be able to write again. Real stuff, not the reactionary “I saw this thing another guy wrote about, so here’s my thoughts on it which are basically the same point-of-view but reworded.” I hate that, and got away from it a long time ago. Why should I rehash something someone else better had written?

I am getting better at doing these things. While being broken up time-wise, the best overall time it takes me to bang out 1000 words is maybe 45 to 50 minutes. It does help that my typing speed is relatively fast, so as long as I don’t just stare at the computer screen or keyboard doing nothing, I can get through it. Also, who wants to sit in front of their computer for 2 hours to type out 1000 words? I think if I got to that point I’d pack in the challenge and start setting up the blogposts for the challenge.

Work has been the same as it has ever been. The days blend into the next, with the monotony of the job being constant and unchanging. I got a new manager last week. This’ll be the 5th one I’ve had since I started working at this company 8 years ago. I don’t know much about him at all, but I will have to exercise my listening carefully skills to understand him when he talks. Hopefully, he’ll leave me relatively alone as my previous managers have done. They can see my numbers and what I’ve been doing. Since I know exactly what I have to do in order to exceed my objectives, I just do that day-in and day-out. No autistic arguing with others over policy or “X should be in because of Y,Z, and A!” nonsense. I do my job, keep my head down, and go home. I want to keep it that way. Work and Home separate. Bullshit staying at work, tranquility and quiet staying at home.

For some reason my right hip joint has some soreness in it. It feels like it needs to pop, but I just can’t quite get it to do so. Mornings are the toughest, especially when getting into my car for the first time. I haven’t a clue why such a thing is happening. I’m not running at all, and a stationary bike is low impact (my knees actually feel it more than my hips). Age, maybe? I’m not 18 anymore, being able to spring back from an injury with a grin on my face and asking for more. I have to be careful I don’t do any more permanent damage. If I get around to it, I probably should do an Epsom salt soak later. That of course hinges on me remembering later on. Some turmeric supplement may also help with the inflammation too. Following all that RICE nonsense about dealing with injuries would be another thing that would help overall.

19:10. After getting home from work I took out my recycling and changed into my swimsuit. The weather was still beautiful out, a light breeze with a few wispy clouds in the sky. I grabbed a book I’ve been meaning to start for the past few weeks and went down to the pool. It was very quiet when I got there, the water was still and the deck dry of any footprints. I assumed that there would be at least one sunbather out, but the deck lounge chairs were empty. Not wanting the sun in my eyes as I read, I chose a chair off to the left that was shaded by the nearby portico. I spread my towel out, took of my shirt and sandals, and got comfortable. I picked up my book and began to read.

Three chapters later I was beginning to feel the urge for a swim. The water looked cool and inviting, and while I was not sweaty, would probably be refreshing. Since I wasn’t by the zero-entry part of the pool, I sat on the edge and slipped in to stand on the lip. I had a sight intake of breath from the water being colder than the air. It did feel good.

Once my legs got used to the water I took a deep breath and dove out, pushing off the wall at the same time. I kicked hard and fast, my arms pointed above me like an arrow. Roughly about halfway across, I stroked my arms back flush to my sides and began kicking harder. Moving fast underwater is not the easiest thing to do, and at the same time is a great cardio workout. I could see the metallic glint of the railing dipping in the water but I could feel my chest begin to tighten. I brought my arms up and began to frog kick, stroking my arms back in time with my kicks. The steps came into focus and I arched up, exhaling through my nose, to break the surface of the water with a quick intake of air. I could feel my heart beating faster from the exertion. I rolled over onto my back and floated back across the pool, keeping myself above water with a few elementary backstrokes.
23 August 2016
Tuesday

14:45. Another nice day here in Columbus. Comfortable, sit outside on the porch and read a book type of weather. Even with a cloudless sky, the sun didn’t make everything unbearable. I didn’t have to mop my brow with a napkin or head to the bathroom immediately after my walk to go cool down. Maybe this year will be one where we get an early autumn. An autumn like I remember from Buffalo or North Carolina.

I wonder what I’m going to write about today. Most times I sit down with the open Word document and just start typing stuff about my day. There’s no real point to what gets written here, no goal (outside of the 1000 words), and no real structure. I did lay down some guidelines on my blog, but even those were general and kind of broad. I’ve tried to follow them the best I can, though I may not be as descriptive as I would like. The alternate goal of this challenge is to clear out any blockages in my thoughts and help me to focus on possible new projects. I want to be able to write again. Real stuff, not the reactionary “I saw this thing another guy wrote about, so here’s my thoughts on it which are basically the same point-of-view but reworded.” I hate that, and got away from it a long time ago. Why should I rehash something someone else better had written?

I am getting better at doing these things. While being broken up time-wise, the best overall time it takes me to bang out 1000 words is maybe 45 to 50 minutes. It does help that my typing speed is relatively fast, so as long as I don’t just stare at the computer screen or keyboard doing nothing, I can get through it. Also, who wants to sit in front of their computer for 2 hours to type out 1000 words? I think if I got to that point I’d pack in the challenge and start setting up the blogposts for the challenge.

Work has been the same as it has ever been. The days blend into the next, with the monotony of the job being constant and unchanging. I got a new manager last week. This’ll be the 5th one I’ve had since I started working at this company 8 years ago. I don’t know much about him at all, but I will have to exercise my listening carefully skills to understand him when he talks. Hopefully, he’ll leave me relatively alone as my previous managers have done. They can see my numbers and what I’ve been doing. Since I know exactly what I have to do in order to exceed my objectives, I just do that day-in and day-out. No autistic arguing with others over policy or “X should be in because of Y,Z, and A!” nonsense. I do my job, keep my head down, and go home. I want to keep it that way. Work and Home separate. Bullshit staying at work, tranquility and quiet staying at home.

For some reason my right hip joint has some soreness in it. It feels like it needs to pop, but I just can’t quite get it to do so. Mornings are the toughest, especially when getting into my car for the first time. I haven’t a clue why such a thing is happening. I’m not running at all, and a stationary bike is low impact (my knees actually feel it more than my hips). Age, maybe? I’m not 18 anymore, being able to spring back from an injury with a grin on my face and asking for more. I have to be careful I don’t do any more permanent damage. If I get around to it, I probably should do an Epsom salt soak later. That of course hinges on me remembering later on. Some turmeric supplement may also help with the inflammation too. Following all that RICE nonsense about dealing with injuries would be another thing that would help overall.

19:10. After getting home from work I took out my recycling and changed into my swimsuit. The weather was still beautiful out, a light breeze with a few wispy clouds in the sky. I grabbed a book I’ve been meaning to start for the past few weeks and went down to the pool. It was very quiet when I got there, the water was still and the deck dry of any footprints. I assumed that there would be at least one sunbather out, but the deck lounge chairs were empty. Not wanting the sun in my eyes as I read, I chose a chair off to the left that was shaded by the nearby portico. I spread my towel out, took of my shirt and sandals, and got comfortable. I picked up my book and began to read.

Three chapters later I was beginning to feel the urge for a swim. The water looked cool and inviting, and while I was not sweaty, would probably be refreshing. Since I wasn’t by the zero-entry part of the pool, I sat on the edge and slipped in to stand on the lip. I had a sight intake of breath from the water being colder than the air. It did feel good.

Once my legs got used to the water I took a deep breath and dove out, pushing off the wall at the same time. I kicked hard and fast, my arms pointed above me like an arrow. Roughly about halfway across, I stroked my arms back flush to my sides and began kicking harder. Moving fast underwater is not the easiest thing to do, and at the same time is a great cardio workout. I could see the metallic glint of the railing dipping in the water but I could feel my chest begin to tighten. I brought my arms up and began to frog kick, stroking my arms back in time with my kicks. The steps came into focus and I arched up, exhaling through my nose, to break the surface of the water with a quick intake of air. I could feel my heart beating faster from the exertion. I rolled over onto my back and floated back across the pool, keeping myself above water with a few elementary backstrokes.
23 August 2016
Tuesday

14:45. Another nice day here in Columbus. Comfortable, sit outside on the porch and read a book type of weather. Even with a cloudless sky, the sun didn’t make everything unbearable. I didn’t have to mop my brow with a napkin or head to the bathroom immediately after my walk to go cool down. Maybe this year will be one where we get an early autumn. An autumn like I remember from Buffalo or North Carolina.

I wonder what I’m going to write about today. Most times I sit down with the open Word document and just start typing stuff about my day. There’s no real point to what gets written here, no goal (outside of the 1000 words), and no real structure. I did lay down some guidelines on my blog, but even those were general and kind of broad. I’ve tried to follow them the best I can, though I may not be as descriptive as I would like. The alternate goal of this challenge is to clear out any blockages in my thoughts and help me to focus on possible new projects. I want to be able to write again. Real stuff, not the reactionary “I saw this thing another guy wrote about, so here’s my thoughts on it which are basically the same point-of-view but reworded.” I hate that, and got away from it a long time ago. Why should I rehash something someone else better had written?

I am getting better at doing these things. While being broken up time-wise, the best overall time it takes me to bang out 1000 words is maybe 45 to 50 minutes. It does help that my typing speed is relatively fast, so as long as I don’t just stare at the computer screen or keyboard doing nothing, I can get through it. Also, who wants to sit in front of their computer for 2 hours to type out 1000 words? I think if I got to that point I’d pack in the challenge and start setting up the blogposts for the challenge.

Work has been the same as it has ever been. The days blend into the next, with the monotony of the job being constant and unchanging. I got a new manager last week. This’ll be the 5th one I’ve had since I started working at this company 8 years ago. I don’t know much about him at all, but I will have to exercise my listening carefully skills to understand him when he talks. Hopefully, he’ll leave me relatively alone as my previous managers have done. They can see my numbers and what I’ve been doing. Since I know exactly what I have to do in order to exceed my objectives, I just do that day-in and day-out. No autistic arguing with others over policy or “X should be in because of Y,Z, and A!” nonsense. I do my job, keep my head down, and go home. I want to keep it that way. Work and Home separate. Bullshit staying at work, tranquility and quiet staying at home.

For some reason my right hip joint has some soreness in it. It feels like it needs to pop, but I just can’t quite get it to do so. Mornings are the toughest, especially when getting into my car for the first time. I haven’t a clue why such a thing is happening. I’m not running at all, and a stationary bike is low impact (my knees actually feel it more than my hips). Age, maybe? I’m not 18 anymore, being able to spring back from an injury with a grin on my face and asking for more. I have to be careful I don’t do any more permanent damage. If I get around to it, I probably should do an Epsom salt soak later. That of course hinges on me remembering later on. Some turmeric supplement may also help with the inflammation too. Following all that RICE nonsense about dealing with injuries would be another thing that would help overall.

19:10. After getting home from work I took out my recycling and changed into my swimsuit. The weather was still beautiful out, a light breeze with a few wispy clouds in the sky. I grabbed a book I’ve been meaning to start for the past few weeks and went down to the pool. It was very quiet when I got there, the water was still and the deck dry of any footprints. I assumed that there would be at least one sunbather out, but the deck lounge chairs were empty. Not wanting the sun in my eyes as I read, I chose a chair off to the left that was shaded by the nearby portico. I spread my towel out, took of my shirt and sandals, and got comfortable. I picked up my book and began to read.

Three chapters later I was beginning to feel the urge for a swim. The water looked cool and inviting, and while I was not sweaty, would probably be refreshing. Since I wasn’t by the zero-entry part of the pool, I sat on the edge and slipped in to stand on the lip. I had a sight intake of breath from the water being colder than the air. It did feel good.

Once my legs got used to the water I took a deep breath and dove out, pushing off the wall at the same time. I kicked hard and fast, my arms pointed above me like an arrow. Roughly about halfway across, I stroked my arms back flush to my sides and began kicking harder. Moving fast underwater is not the easiest thing to do, and at the same time is a great cardio workout. I could see the metallic glint of the railing dipping in the water but I could feel my chest begin to tighten. I brought my arms up and began to frog kick, stroking my arms back in time with my kicks. The steps came into focus and I arched up, exhaling through my nose, to break the surface of the water with a quick intake of air. I could feel my heart beating faster from the exertion. I rolled over onto my back and floated back across the pool, keeping myself above water with a few elementary backstrokes.

Leave a Reply

