1000 Words Challenge Recap – 25 August 2016

25 August 2016
Thursday

I should’ve started this sooner while I was at work. Dumb move on my part. For the moment I’m going to try to get through this because I probably need to do my podcast also. I’m not in the mood to do the podcast though, not much to talk about this week. Well, I do have things to talk about, it’s just that the motivation isn’t there. Maybe I’ll suspend doing them until something occurs that jolts me into doing an episode? I don’t know. It is a lot of work.

Honestly, I’m not in the mood to do this at all. I started to type right when I got home, but after getting a few words down, I changed into my swimsuit and went down to the pool. Even the water wasn’t that refreshing, despite it being humid out and the water being cool. I’ve been running in a funk for the entire day, due to the lack of sleep I had last night.

Now I did promise to myself that I would try to get to be earlier than I have in the past few days, which I kept. The problem was because of a storm that blew through Columbus last night, waking me up around 1:00.

Since my bedroom’s window faces south, and the storm was also to the south, the flashes of lightning and thunder crashes jolted me out of sleep. It was that bad. The pouring rain, the thunder, and the lightning all counteracted the melatonin I took a few hours ago to fall asleep. I saw the hardwired smoke detector flicker, and actually got up to go into the kitchen to see if the clocks on the stove and microwave reset. They both read 0:00. My done with charging phone had no alerts, so I went to the bathroom and took a piss and got back into bed.

I tossed and turned for a while, trying to ignore the storm sounds and block out the bright flashes of light from the lightning. Eventually, I grabbed the other pillow on my bed and hugged it close to me to block out the light from the window. I fell asleep again after the storm passed by.

With that bit of “niceness” from Mother Nature, I was groggy when my alarm went off this morning. I don’t even remember hitting it the first time at 5:51, or the second time at 6:00. 6:09 was the next time I actually could consciously read the clock with recognition. I hit the snooze button once more and then dragged myself out of bed to take a shower, shave, and get dressed.

I even left late for work this morning, having to stop at a Tim Horton’s to get coffee. Luckily I sliced getting to the drive-thru just right; there wasn’t that many cars in line. I got my coffee and drove to work for my usual day of mind-numbing tedium. The day went fast, but at the same time slow, as usual. I started stuff. I finished stuff. I checked Twitter. My normal workday routine.

Crap, I just tabbed out to Chrome yet again while writing this. I really don’t want to be here all night trying to get to 1000 words, but it looks like tonight might be the night that I fail the challenge. I am really not in the mood to do this. My brain fells like mush and I really want to go do anything but this. Though I would like to finish it somehow. Ploughing through seems to be the solution, but then I come back to the same question I always ask myself when writing these: “What is God’s name should I write about?”

This does feel like a chore. No monetary incentives for this. No nothing. Just me staring daily in my monitor either here at home or at work, typing gibberish to fill out my word count for the day. Words that probably won’t be read by others for another month or so, depending on the frequency that I post these to my blog. I haven’t decided on what that’s going to be like. At the moment, I have 19 documents (including this one) ready to go. Editing and redacting them for publishing shouldn’t take too long. I think I’ll end the challenge next Thursday, the 1st of September. Since I’m going to be gone for the weekend, I intentionally “break the chain.”

Now I told myself that I would try to get 30 days’ worth of these things, but since I started a few days later in the month than I wanted, that won’t happen. Getting through them have been both an enjoyable and a tedious experience at the same time. Knowing that I can write 1000 words in the course of an hour or so is a good piece of knowledge to have for the future. And if I decide to write something more significant, I can do 1000 word chunks every day and at the end of a month I’ll have a good part of a book done. Now I just need a topic to write about.

It’s after 20:00 now and I’m really pushing to get this finished up and done. If I was a “cutting corners” kind of guy, I’d be using a ton of extra words and being overly verbose to drag up the wordcount. That seems cheaty. And while I have been, at times descriptive, I try to do so because I’m describing something in detail, not to bump my numbers. Maybe tomorrow will bring me a better and easier time at writing something.

I’d write about how stuff is going with Redhead, but there isn’t anything to talk about with that. Yeah, I think she’s cute and want to get to know her better, but she herself is still in a place of getting over her ex (which is actually for something legitimate, so hold your disapproval for something else), so that’s not exactly a priority in her mind. I’m not holding my breath that she’ll change her mind, so at the present time I’ll just be friendly in a non-orbiter way. I’ll say “hi.” I’ll chat with her, etc. Normal human interaction.

Leave a Reply

