Back At It

A few weeks ago I pushed aside my misgivings about my back and decided to get back under the bar, using a modified version of the StrongLifts workout.

The normal workout goes like this (5×5, except 1×5 Deadlift):

A: Squat, Bench press, Barbell row
B: Squat, Overhead press, Deadlift

Now my modification (because I forgot the initial order) is as follows:

A: Squat, Overhead press, Dips (if feeling it)
B: Squat, Bench press, Deadlift

I dropped out Rows because frankly, they didn’t do much for me the last time I did StrongLifts. They also put more strain on my lower back based on a few test lifts I did earlier this month. Since I don’t want to be injured, it seemed like a smart choice.

So far, things have been going good and I’m making sure to concentrate on my form while lifting. I don’t want a repeat of the muscle pull during my PB deadlift or the tweaking of my back during that squat. The latter of the two actually put me out of commission longer until I fixed that with weekly massages.

As long as I concentrate on the hip drive during squats and not rounding my back during deadlift, I’ll should be fine.

Leave a Reply

